Havana, Cuba.- Eight new lawmakers joined the People’s Power National Assembly on Wednesday to fill vacants, the legislative body informed.

Among those who took office on Wednesday are Food Industry Minister Iris Quiñones, Economy and Planning Minister Alejandro Gil, and the first secretary of the Communist Party in Mayabeque province, Yanima de La Nuez.

Other vacants were filled by Domestic Trade Minister Betsy Diaz, the head of the Cadres Department of the State and the Government, Miguel Mario Cabrera; Energy and Mining Minister Raul Garcia, Communications Minister Jorge Luis Perdomo and Justice Minister Oscar Manuel Silvera.

‘I welcome you to our Parliament. I am sure that you will be faithful executors of the oath that you have just signed,’ National Assembly President Esteban Lazo said when giving them the distinction that certifies them as lawmakers.