Miguel Diaz-Canel,  new President of Cuba, and Raul Castro.

HAVANA, Cuba.- In the constitutive session of the ninth legislature of the National Assembly of People´s Power, attended by the first Secretary of the party, Raul Castro, it was reported today the result of the Cuban deputies’ voting, who elected Miguel Diaz-Canel Bermudez as President of the country.

Diaz-Canel was First Secretary of the Young Communist League of Cuba in Villa Clara, and Second Secretary of the National Committee of this organization.

He served as First Secretary of the Party in Villa Clara and Holguin provinces, was appointed Minister of Higher Education in 2009 and 2012, and that last year he was Vice-President of the Council of Ministers.

The newly elected Cuban President was recognized when he belonged to the Anti-aircraft Defense and Revolutionary Air Force (DAAFAR), as well as internationalist collaborator.

Council of State Elected

The members of the National Assembly of People´s Power expressed their support for Diaz-Canel as the new President of Cuba with closed applauses.

The President of the National Electoral Commission, Alina Balseiro, announced the conformation of the Council of State, elected by the deputies. Salvador Valdes Mesa will be its First Vice-President, and they are Vice-Presidents Ramiro Valdes, Roberto Morales, Gladys Bejerano, Ines Maria Chapman, and Beatriz Johnson.

Homer Acosta was ratified as Secretary of that body and as members, Leopoldo Cintra Frias, Teresa Amarelle, Ulises Guilarte de Nacimiento, Miriam Nicado, Guillermo Garcia and Bruno Rodriguez. Other members are Martha del Carmen Mesa, Carlos Rafael Miranda, Susely Morfa, Rafael Santiesteban, Miguel Barnet, and Iliana Amparo Flores.

They were elected as new members of the Council of State, Raul Alejandro Palmero, Jorge Berlanga, Yipsi Moreno, Elizabeth Pena, Yoerkys Sanchez, Ivis Niuba Villa, Barbara Alexy Terry, Reina Salermo, Rosalina Fournier, Carlos Alberto Martinez and Felicia Martinez.