Lima, Peru.- Peruvian Prime Minister Vicente Zeballos confirmed the arrival of 85 Cuban doctors to collaborate in the fight against COVID-19 and suggested that they go to the regions most affected by the serious disease.

“We are going to suggest that their work be focused particularly on the critical regions,” the northern regions of Lambayeque and Piura and the Amazon region of Loreto, where the advance of the disease has overtaken the weakened hospital system.

Zeballos spoke to a group of reporters when he left for Iquitos, the capital of Loreto, taking medical personnel, equipment, medicine and food to meet the needs of the fight against the pandemic, as part of an airlift to help the distant jungle city.

He said that for several weeks, three regions of Peru began negotiations and requested the assistance of Cuban doctors, which was accepted by the government, pending only the signing of an agreement by the ministries of health of both countries. “We hope that in the next few days they can be in Peru,” said the prime minister.

A press release from the Presidency of the Council of Ministers, headed by Zeballos, confirmed last night that both governments, through their ministries of health, will sign a memorandum of understanding whereby 85 Cuban doctors will come “to reinforce actions against the new SARS-CoV-2 coronavirus.

He points out that the agreement was promoted by the High Level Multisectoral Commission against the Coronavirus and will be in force for three months, and can be renewed if the parties consider it necessary.

The news is highlighted in the local press and has generated reactions of satisfaction in the affected areas, especially in Piura, which in 2017 received a Cuban medical brigade that assisted the victims of the major floods that year.

The presence of the new medical brigade will coincide with the 50th anniversary of Cuban medical collaboration with Peru, when Cuban professionals were the first foreign aid workers to arrive in the region of Ancash, devastated by the great earthquake of 31 May 1970.